SeaWorld Part VII of XIV: In the Caribbean

After visiting the penguins, puffins, and other aquatic, Antarctic birds, I made my way to a large castle-structure that housed the “Journey to Atlantis” ride. This area also housed the park’s smallest exhibit, which was on the other side of a stroll through a gift shop. I had thought about trinkets for some of you, but I thought you’d enjoy seeing the magnificent animals more than a keychain, which is why there are so many pictures that I’ve had to break them up this way.

The exhibit consists of creatures that live on the bottom of the Caribbean, except for the jellyfish. Although compact, the room housed animals under the cutaway floor, in the roof, and otherwise completely in the visual field.

Here’s a ray just under my feet.

I offer my shoes as proof.

This is a wider look at the floor.

Set in the wall to the right hovered a jellyfish.

Or, to be precise, an Atlantic Sea Nettle.

For those of you who do not know, I hate lobsters and crabs. I do not speak in hyperbole- when I run across one that is not separated by the glass of an aquarium display, my first instinct is to smash it with whatever accessible large, blunt object. They are sea cockroaches to me. Their antennae stalks, insect legs, and pulpy mass not shielded by their exoskeleton violate all manners of decency in my eyes. I would smite them as I smite a roach.

These creatures are Caribbean Spiny Lobsters.

This is one of the few times (perhaps the second) I’ve seen a Moray Eel just hanging in the breeze. The room was kept dark, I surmise for the comfort of the animals to recreate their natural habitat, and while the picture is poor, it’s the best out of the five I took.

Lastly, this is the ceiling, a dome with live sharks, rays, and other unidentified fish gliding above. Aside from the friendly puffin and the cetaceans, this striking display of architecture and nature was my favorite part of the day.

Leave a comment

Filed under Photo Gallery

Leave a Reply

