A Happy February

My apologies for the lapse since the last installment of the West Palm Beach Zoo trip. Recently:

1. Toyota has issued a major recall of many of its cars due to problems with the accelerator sticking. Personally I think this is a lie, as I have driven across the country and the last thing that seems to be a problem is people being too liberal with the gas.

All kidding aside, the recall specifically affects Toyota vehicles that have metal embellishments on the side of the accelerator. My vehicle is a 2003 Matrix, and does not have the accelerator described in the recall.

The company nor any of the dealerships (Brockton, Hyannis, or Stuart) have made an effort to contact me concerning this recent issue. I happened to buy my car at the right time.

On a side note, I also just paid my insurance, which went without incident, and remained roughly what I paid last year.

2. Since I have left, all of the local bar bands evidently were thrown into a large dryer and have been haphazardly reassembled. This has provided further motivation to sharpen my drumming ability. I’ve gone so far as to construct a forty-song playlist, and using pillows as a surrogate and rather quiet kit, have spent anywhere from two to three hours relearning some songs familiar, some new, and some so daunting when I was 18- they still are hard.

The most vexing at the moment is “Message In a Bottle” by The Police, which I think is also the only Police single that I know of that has lyrics that are both coherent and not grounds for calling the police (in contrast, the same cannot be said for “Doo Doo Doo, Da Da Da”, “Roxanne”, “Every Breath You Take (I’ll Be Watching You)”, and “Don’t Stand So Close to Me”).

I like to think of it as spring training, and if baseball uses Florida for such ends, why not I?

3. At the moment I am rereading Winchester’s “The Professor and the Madman”, a book that examines the strange backstory behind the compilation of the largest dictionary ever, the Oxford English Dictionary, which strives to document every word in the English Language, it’s pronunciation, the first time it appeared in print, it’s etymology (basically, early alternate spellings, to grossly oversimplify), and every possible definition and way it may be used.

The project required a massive army of volunteers, but the person who contributed quotes for something like 12,000 words was an American army surgeon that shot and killed someone by accident in the UK, and spent the rest of his life in a mental hospital. By day he was a learned, gentle man, but he repeatedly claimed that Irishmen would come through the floorboards and do experiments on him, deface his possessions, or even kidnap him and whisk him into the night, making him do all manners of lewd acts.

Things are otherwise quiet, I’m still riding my bike when weather permits and otherwise staying busy.

The highlight of my day was standing about a foot away from the vertically-raised roadway of one of the drawbridges here, which stood easily 25 feet high. I’ll have to get a picture.

1 Comment

Filed under Music, Now Reading

One response to “A Happy February

  1. dad

    Glad u had no problems with the insurance bill.

Leave a Reply

