Trip to the Mall and Some Pictures of the Grounds

Went to bed around three last night after commenting on my sister’s paper and uploading pictures for the previous two posts, as well as taking a shower…

I woke up today around 9:30. I caught up on the news, baseball and otherwise, and then went and knocked on my fellow journeyman’s door to see when he wanted to go to the local mall he discovered yesterday. He had to return some ill-fitting shoes. We then went to HR to register our cars for employee parking stickers, and then went to employee lunch. I had a ham, turkey, and cheddar sandwich on wheat, I think with either Coke or water, I forget.

We then ventured to the mall, where I bought shower shoes and a cheap pair of shorts. Strangely, this mall had a booth simulating hurricane-strength winds, which they advertised as 78 MPH. There was also a local sheriff’s office, and other vestiges of civilization that put me at ease, familiar shops such as PacSun, Gap, Home Depot, Lowes, Payless, and others. Not that I need these shops. But just having them around puts me at ease. Should I need to go to Home Depot. I have no idea why I would need to. But should the need arise, there it is. DeLillo explores the notion of consumer comfort with certain brands in his novel “White Noise”, for those interested.

Anyway, I managed to photograph some of the grounds in the daylight. I will have a whole post about the dorms and the lizards later on.

An inlet near the Chef's Cupboard and a dining room. I have no idea what body of water this is.

An inlet near the Chef's Cupboard and a dining room. I have no idea what body of water this is.

There is a seriously large blue boat docked here.

There is a seriously large blue boat docked here.

Turning around from the large blue boat is this hole on the golf course.

Turning around from the large blue boat is this hole on the golf course.

Same hole, just a little further up the path

Same hole, just a little further up the path

Still the same hole, even further up the path... figured Dad, Duke, Dean and maybe Richard would appreciate a few different angles.

Still the same hole, even further up the path... figured Dad, Duke, Dean and maybe Richard would appreciate a few different angles.

The outdoor employee dining area.

The outdoor employee dining area.

The lower level

The lower level

The porch, which extends around the corner

The porch, which extends around the corner

My fellow journeyman and I ate lunch where the arrow indicates.

My fellow journeyman and I ate lunch where the arrow indicates.

Off to dinner now.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

